Here app

Messenger solution Line just released a new app for sharing your location with friends and family. 

Here reminds me of Find Friends, a sharing app that Apple will include on iOS 9 by default.

Line Here and Apple’s Find Friends have the same idea in common: sharing your location with people you know and trust. The difference between both apps is that the first is also available for Android smartphones.

Here asks for a Facebook or Line account to start sharing your location. After you agree to the terms and conditions, Here explains the things it will do with your phone.

For example, Here shares your location on the background even if the app is closed. It enables the creation of “rooms” where you can let people, that join, know where you are. If you wish to stop sharing your details, all you have to do is abandon the group.

To invite someone and start sharing your whereabouts, tap on the blue “+” button in the middle of the screen. You can ask people using Line, WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger, and SMS.

The invites you send via message have a one-day expiration date. Here will ask you if want to start sharing your location. 
After you accept, a 2-hour timer starts running, and a map displays your friend’s location. To leave the room, add a new plan to meet or invite new members, just tap on the arrow menu on the top right.

The Settings tab – in the hamburger menu located on the upper left corner – has a notification center to limit the time you share your location, and the units used in displaying how far away you are. You can also access a FAQ that tries to answer all the questions you may have.

If you don’t feel safe sharing your location, and want to stop using Here, I recommend you use the “Delete account” option inside the Settings menu. That will forever delete your photo, information, and shared locations.

Here is available for free for iPhones with iOS 7 or later, and Android 4.1 smartphones. Did you like the app? Did it raise any privacy concerns? Please let me know in the comment section.