Elias Pelcastre

Viber remote text deletion: how to use it, and does it work?

How many times have you wished you didn´t send that text message? Viber wants to give its users a second chance with a new “delete sent messages” feature.

Self-explanatory, really: send a message, get cold feet or regret it, and remove the text from the other person´s phone. But how does it work? Simple.

Imagine you´re chatting with a friend; you write a message and hit send. “Oh no, what an embarrassing text have I sent?” you think to yourself. Ta-dah, Viber to the rescue.

Long-press the message you sent, tap “Delete”, and select “Delete for everyone”. That´s it; your message has been “destroyed”.

“Is that right?” you might be wondering. Well, to give you some peace of mind I have conducted a little experiment to see Viber´s new feature in action.

I sent a text from my iPhone to my Moto G to check Viber´s new addition out. The message disappeared almost instantly from my Android phone, as I tapped the “Delete for everyone” button on my iPhone and the Moto G didn´t display the text in question.

Now you can erase those awkward texts or photos before the receiver sees them. Very useful if you don´t want anybody to have your “special” pictures lying around on their phones.

You can download Viber for free for iPhone, Android, and Windows Phone here.

Remember that you can support eliaspelcastre.com by making a donation through our “Donate” button on the right side of every article, or on our dedicated page. Thank you in advance for your help.